prototyping and fabricating

19Jan09

I have been doing prototyping for a sustainable energy start up in Brooklyn, SMIT – sustainable minded interactive technology, for the past two years.

I have been working mostly on data-logging and visualization for their solar/wind hybrid system from a sensor network that graphs both energy stored over time with wind speed, temperature and light intensity.  These values are also stored locally on an SD Card as a comma separated file along with a time/date stamp from an on board real time clock module.

I have also started my own business, RZD – Raphael Zollinger Designs LLC, which has worked in conjunction with Ohad Folman on Plug-gage, an energy generating suit-case.  I prototyped a system that transfers the kinetic energy from the wheels as its being moved around the airport to a stepper motor generator that stores the current in a battery.  It has a visual multimeter, 2 usb outputs and an inverter with one plug for ac.  The front also has a pouch to roll out a flexible solar cell for additional input.

coming up, I will be prototyping a system for, weCycle NYC, an event based recycling program, to data-log their bins use via an xbee mesh network to display their use on the web.  All the data-loggers will be solar powered.

Lastly, promising talks with UNICEF to prototype a hand held data-logger for doctors in Malawi to input patient information.  This with GRND Lab, a design collaborative I am a part of.

more updates soon and details of these projects.

and a new website for my LLC.

2 Responses to “prototyping and fabricating”

  1. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here.

    I did however expertise some technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload
    the web site many times previous to I could get it to
    load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances
    times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a
    lot more of your respective fascinating content.

    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  2. I every time spent my half an hour to read this website’s
    content every day along with a mug of coffee.


Leave a Reply

